Oh, Alice! I believe we’re mad!

“See my pretty, empty little pails? They’re used to water my plastic plants in my tiny, dry garden…” said I.

(Originally posted on Tea Talks. Note: My friend Alice is going through some rough times. A couple of years back, I was able to cope with mine gracefully since she was always there to give her love and support. Now, it’s my turn… And as I always say, be generous with your friends with words of encouragement, you’ll never know when you’d need to hear them back…)

“Have I gone mad?” “I’m afraid so. You’re mad, bonkers, completely off your head. But I’ll tell you a secret. All the best people are.”*

And that is why, Alice, I believe you to be mad because you’re simply one of the best persons I’ve known! You are brilliant and beautiful and you have a good heart.

And aren’t we two of a kind? We are kindred spirits after all!

“I quite agree with you,” said the Duchess; “and the moral of that is–‘Be what you would seem to be’–or if you’d like it put more simply–‘Never imagine yourself not to be otherwise than what it might appear to others that what you were or might have been was not otherwise than what you had been would have appeared to them to be otherwise.”

And why Alice, things happen the way they do? It’s because the people respond the way they are supposed to. Isn’t the world after all made up of rules? And these people have to play their part, regardless if they understood them or not. But we are of a different set of cards. Their rules do not apply to us. That is why we sometimes do not get along well with them.

“Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?”

“That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,” said the Cat.

“I don’t much care where–“

“Then it doesn’t matter which way you go,” said the Cat.

“–so long as I get SOMEWHERE…”

And remember, we have done this before. And we did get SOMEWHERE together. And there are still more paths we want to explore. We don’t know where they will lead us to, but whichever path we take surely would bring another adventure.

“But I don’t want to go among mad people,” Alice remarked. “Oh, you can’t help that,” said the Cat: we’re all mad here. I’m mad. You’re mad.” “How do you know I’m mad?” said Alice. “You must be,” said the Cat, or you wouldn’t have come here.”

Strange isn’t it? But we have come HERE, this world that is as mad as we are. And you know what’s stranger, we really cannot remember how we got to where we are now. Surely, there were all sort of signs that we followed.

Along the way, our paths have crossed and since then, like two little girls we held hands as we laughed and talked along the way and continued on our journey.

But lately, we have been walking alone. And I felt some pain. Were they yours or were they mine? Did you stay behind when you missed a step and sprained your foot? Or was it I who stumbled down the narrow steep road?

“It was much pleasanter at home,” thought poor Alice, “when one wasn’t always growing larger and smaller, and being ordered about by mice and rabbits. I almost wish I hadn’t gone down the rabbit-hole–and yet–and yet–…”

I know! If only we can turn back time and stayed at home. We wouldn’t have felt upset by all these changes and all the things we have to do. How we wish we could have remained as children — innocent and without worries. Now that we have grown up, why do we shed more tears than babies do? Why do we feel uncertain and fear what’s up ahead? And so we ask, why did we jump into the rabbit hole, Alice?

That’s because we have not always been afraid. We try to see good things and dream up surprises hidden in the dark paths ahead. It has always been within us, it is in our nature, to not keep still but continue to run after our dreams. How we dislike to think that because of ennui, the sun only rises and sets so it can chase after itself the next day. No, we live in order to experience life.

Nature has its way of reminding us all the time, that life is an adventure. You cannot stay in one place and continue running with the same pace. What did they say in Wonderland, you have to run twice as fast if you want to get somewhere?

Well, my dear Alice, this is your cue… Run! And if you have to do it all over, jump into that rabbit hole again!

We didn’t do it the first time just because we were curious to find out where the white rabbit with the watch was heading… but because we always felt that there was something more interesting down there!

“Yes, that’s it! Said the Hatter with a sigh, it’s always tea time.”

And so it was! We always had tea. And we talked over tea. And we always made life seem more interesting when we try to see it through the looking glass!

We wouldn’t want to miss our tea talks, would we? But lately… there was silence. It’s not a riddle (although life is full of them) when we ask but never really look for the answer. When we want to go places but instead we stay still. I guess, it’s simply the way of things. It doesn’t matter from which pack of cards we came from. Because these rules would also apply to us.

How are we to know then if we will find the answer to our questions? Or if we will be able to get somewhere?

It only takes one single step to make a change. The Cheshire Cast isn’t always there to tell us the rules or to ask the questions to help us understand ourselves better. But perhaps right now, he may be up there on a tree, grinning down at us. Perhaps the Cat thinks it’s best for us to be silent for a while.

And so be it. Just take some time to stand back and let the universe unravel its own mystery.

My silence means I care.

Alice, don’t worry. I’ll be waiting for you at the bend of the road. When you’re ready to join me again, just reach out and we can hold hands and together we can once more skip and jump, and hop through life while we run along to make our dreams come true.

And until then, another story will be waiting to be written…

CG

* All quotes by Lewis Carroll from Alice in Wonderland

Leave a Reply

